Diversity Spotlight # 3

Diversity

Welcome to my 3rd installment of the Diversity Spotlight! This week I am featuring 3 diverse books that feature …. Indian characters. Diversity Spotlight Thursday is a weekly meme that was created by Aimal @ Bookshelves and Paperbacks. Every week I share I diverse boo I’ve read and enjoyed, a diverse book that is released and I have not read, and a diverse book not yet released that I can’t wait for. For more information on the Diversity Spotlight you can check out the announcement post  here.


tres electro

 Dimple Lala doesn’t know what to think. Her parents are from India, and she’s spent her whole life resisting their traditions. Then suddenly she gets to high school and everything Indian is trendy. To make matters worse, her parents arrange for her to meet a “suitable boy.” Of course it doesn’t go well — until Dimple goes to a club and finds him spinning a magical web . Suddenly the suitable boy is suitable because of his sheer unsuitability. Complications ensue. This is a funny, thoughtful story about finding your heart, finding your culture, and finding your place in America.

I read this book years a go and this was the first book I ever read that featured an Indian character. Its totally over do for a reread and I’m hoping to get a chance to read it this year.

 

tres electro

Dimple Shah has it all figured out. With graduation behind her, she’s more than ready for a break from her family, from Mamma’s inexplicable obsession with her finding the “Ideal Indian Husband.” Ugh. Dimple knows they must respect her principles on some level, though. If they truly believed she needed a husband right now, they wouldn’t have paid for her to attend a summer program for aspiring web developers…right?

Rishi Patel is a hopeless romantic. So when his parents tell him that his future wife will be attending the same summer program as him—wherein he’ll have to woo her—he’s totally on board. Because as silly as it sounds to most people in his life, Rishi wants to be arranged, believes in the power of tradition, stability, and being a part of something much bigger than himself.

The Shahs and Patels didn’t mean to start turning the wheels on this “suggested arrangement” so early in their children’s lives, but when they noticed them both gravitate toward the same summer program, they figured, Why not?

Dimple and Rishi may think they have each other figured out. But when opposites clash, love works hard to prove itself in the most unexpected ways.

Is there anything to say about this that wasn’t already said?

tres electro (1)

Priyanka Das has so many unanswered questions: Why did her mother abandon her home in India years ago? What was it like there? And most importantly, who is her father, and why did her mom leave him behind? But Pri’s mom avoids these questions―the topic of India is permanently closed.

For Pri, her mother’s homeland can only exist in her imagination. That is, until she find a mysterious pashmina tucked away in a forgotten suitcase. When she wraps herself in it, she is transported to a place more vivid and colorful than any guidebook or Bollywood film. But is this the real India? And what is that shadow lurking in the background? To learn the truth, Pri must travel farther than she’s ever dared and find the family she never knew.

In this heartwarming graphic novel debut, Nidhi Chanani weaves a tale about the hardship and self-discovery that is born from juggling two cultures and two worlds

I’m really excited about this one. I love graphic novels and the more diverse they are the better.  This is also a Middle Grade novel the target audience is 10 -14 years old.


Have you read any of the books I’ve mentioned, or plan to read them? I would love to here your thoughts
Arya

 

 

5 thoughts on “Diversity Spotlight # 3

  1. Born Confused sounds so good! Like the classic When Dimple Met Rishi. I’m looking forward to reading that book once the line at the library goes down… Pashmina sounds right up my alley! I love graphic novels and a magic pashmina sounds so cool! I love books about “another world” from the one you’ve always known! This is a cute meme! I recently posted a diverse review… I should have added these to my end! 🌈🌟❤️

    Like

    • I remeber really liking Born Confused and I’m really curious to reread it and see if it’s as good as I remember. I’m so excited for When Dimple Meets Rishi but my library line is way to long right now. I love graphic novels/manga/comics I love them even more when they feature diverse themes!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

