Diversity Spotlight # 6

Diversity

Diversity Spotlight Thursday is a weekly meme that was created by Aimal @ Bookshelves and Paperbacks. Every week I share I diverse boo I’ve read and enjoyed, a diverse book that is released and I have not read, and a diverse book not yet released that I can’t wait for. For more information on the Diversity Spotlight you can check out the announcement post  here.


tres electro

At seventeen, Norah has accepted that the four walls of her house delineate her life. She knows that fearing everything from inland tsunamis to odd numbers is irrational, but her mind insists the world outside is too big, too dangerous. So she stays safe inside, watching others’ lives through her windows and social media feed.

But when Luke arrives on her doorstep, he doesn’t see a girl defined by medical terms and mental health. Instead, he sees a girl who is funny, smart, and brave. And Norah likes what he sees.

Their friendship turns deeper, but Norah knows Luke deserves a normal girl. One who can walk beneath the open sky. One who is unafraid of kissing. One who isn’t so screwed up. Can she let him go for his own good—or can Norah learn to see herself through Luke’s eyes?

I just finished this book last week and I loved reading it. I loved that the rep was #ownvoice and you can totally tell when reading this. Also the romance was really cute! I’m really looking forward to read more books from the author!

tres electro

Melody is not like most people. She cannot walk or talk, but she has a photographic memory; she can remember every detail of everything she has ever experienced. She is smarter than most of the adults who try to diagnose her and smarter than her classmates in her integrated classroom – the very same classmates who dismiss her as mentally challenged because she cannot tell them otherwise. But Melody refuses to be defined by cerebral palsy. And she’s determined to let everyone know it – somehow.

In this breakthrough story, reminiscent of The Diving Bell and the Butterfly, from multiple Coretta Scott King Award-winner Sharon Draper, readers will come to know a brilliant mind and a brave spirit who will change forever how they look at anyone with a disability.

This book has been on my TBR for years! I’ve never read a book with a character who has Cerebal Palsy before so I’m very excited to see how this one goes. I’ve heard so many great thing and I can’t wait for my hold to come!

tres electro (1)

 The first book in this new duology features a compelling gender fluid main character, impressive worldbuilding, and fast-paced action.

Sallot Leon is a thief, and a good one at that. But gender fluid Sal wants nothing more than to escape the drudgery of life as a highway robber and get closer to the upper-class―and the nobles who destroyed their home.

When Sal steals a flyer for an audition to become a member of The Left Hand―the Queen’s personal assassins, named after the rings she wears―Sal jumps at the chance to infiltrate the court and get revenge.

But the audition is a fight to the death filled with clever circus acrobats, lethal apothecaries, and vicious ex-soldiers. A childhood as a common criminal hardly prepared Sal for the trials. And as Sal succeeds in the competition, and wins the heart of Elise, an intriguing scribe at court, they start to dream of a new life and a different future, but one that Sal can have only if they survive.

I’m so excited to read a fantasy book with a genderfluid main character. I;m evem more excited about it since I received an ARC copy from Netgalley this morning and I’m really excited to finally get through. Look out for my review coming out closer to the release date in August!


Happy Reading

Arya

5 thoughts on “Diversity Spotlight # 6

    • It had great rep and you can totally tell its own voices! I’m do excited for masks of shadows! I’ve got 8 books top read before I can read that one and it is killing me 😣

      Like

Leave a Reply

