The Classic Club Challenge- 75 books in 5 years!

Classic Club is something I’ve been following since way before I started blogging, I’m talking years people, and I always wanted to join in. However my reading interests have always been excluded classics until more recently. I’m pretty new to reading classics so I’m really excited to read this really popular books.

If you’d like to participate in the classic club check it out here for more information

I’m really excited to give this challenge a go. I decided to try reading 75 books because I’m crazy like challenges and I totally think its doable. to accomplish my goal I have to read at least 15 classics each year. For my TBR I decided to pick books that were original published prior to the 1970s. For myself personally I want to focus on books prior to the 70s because I consider that as the beginning of “modern classics” However this might change in the future who knows. I’m also really excited to see how my TBR changes and grows as my reading taste and preferences change.

This list is organized by highest rating to lowest rating according to Goodreads.  I found this really interesting so I left it this way. My goal is to read 75 classics by 7/23/2022!

My List

  1. East of Eden- John Steinback
  2. The Little Prince – Antoine de Saint-Exupéry
  3. Gone With the Wind- Margaret Mitchell
  4. Pride and Prejudice- Jane Austen
  5. Anne of Green Gables- L.M. Mongomery
  6. War and Peace- Leo Tolstoy
  7. The Count of Monte Crisco- Alexandre Dumas
  8. Rebecca- Daphne Du Maurier
  9. One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest- Ken Kesey
  10. Crime and Punishment- Fyodor Dostoyevky
  11. Les Miserables- Victor Hugo
  12. 1984- George Orwell
  13. The Secret Garden- Francis Hodgson Burnett
  14. Jane Eyre- Charlotte Bronte
  15. Peter Pan- J.M. Barrie
  16. A Room of One’s Own- Virginia Woolf
  17. The Once and Future King- T.H. White
  18. Wives and Daughters- Elizabeth Gaskell
  19. The Divine Comedy- Dante
  20. The Arabian Nights- Anonymous
  21. The Three Musketeers- Alexandre Dumas
  22. Slaughterhouse-Five-  Kurt Vonnegut Jr.
  23. The Picture of Dorian Gray-  Oscar Wilde
  24. The Merry Adventures of Robin Hood Howard Pyle
  25. We Have Always Lived in the Castle- Shirley Jackson
  26. A Wrinkle in Time Madeleine L’Engle
  27. Little Women Louisa May Alcott
  28. Anna KareninaLeo Tolstoy
  29. A Christmas CarolCharles Dickens
  30. Hamlet -William Shakespeare
  31. I Capture the Castle – Dodie Smith

  32. The Trial- Franz Kafka

  33. Franny and Zooey – J.D. Salinger

  34. The Origin of Species- Charles Darwin

  35. Dracula- Bram Stoker

  36. A Clockwork Orange- Anthony Burgess

  37. The Bell Jar- Sylvia Plath

  38. The Phantom of the Opera- Gaston Leroux

  39. Fahrenheit 451 Ray Bradbury

  40. The Hunchback of Notre-Dame -Victor Hugo

  41. David Copperfield-Charles Dickens

  42. The Art of War Sun Tzu  Read

  43. The Jungle Book-Rudyard Kipling

  44. Around the World in Eighty Days-Jules Verne

  45. The Republic- Plato

  46. The Adventures of Tom Sawyer-Mark Twain

  47. Tarzan of the Apes- Edgar Rice Burroughs

  48. Lolita- Vladimir Nabokov

  49. History of the Peloponnesian War-Thucydides

  50. Uncle Tom’s Cabin-Harriet Beecher Stowe

  51. The Call of the Wild-Jack London

  52. The Iliad- Homer

  53. Wuthering Heights-Emily Brontë

  54. Treasure Island- Robert Louis Stevenson

  55. The Taming of the Shrew-William Shakespeare

  56. A Tale of Two Cities- Charles Dickens

  57. The Aeneid-Virgil

  58. Paradise Lost- John Milton

  59. The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde- Robert Louis Stevenson

  60. The Catcher in the Rye- J.D. Salinger

  61. Mrs. Dalloway- Virginia Woolf

  62. Tess of the D’Urbervilles- Thomas Hardy

  63. Vanity Fair- William Makepeace Thackeray

  64. Candide- Voltaire

  65. The Legend of Sleepy Hollow- Washington Irving

  66. Ulysses- James Joyce

  67. As I Lay Dying- William Faulkner

  68. Madame Bovary- Gustave Flaubert

  69. Lord of the Flies- William Golding

  70. The Epic of Gilgamesh-Anonymous

  71. Gulliver’s Travels- Jonathan Swift

  72. Death of a Salesman- Arthur Miller

  73. The Canterbury Tales- Geoffrey Chaucer

  74. Moby-Dick or, The Whale- Herman Melville

  75. The Scarlet Letter- Nathaniel Hawthorne

Any favorites on the list? Any favorites not on the list? I would love to hear your suggestions!

5 thoughts on “The Classic Club Challenge- 75 books in 5 years!

  1. I have read so many of these! I found The Scarlet Letter and also As I Lay Dying to be the most boring. 1984 is one of my favorites. I really want to read We Have Always Lived in the Castle and The Jungle Book. I have been on the hunt for a cheap used copy of those two. Good luck with the challenge!

    Like

    • I’ve heard that about both The Scarlet Letter and As I Lay Dying I’m curious to see how I feel about them . I currently have ebook copies of 1984 and The jungle book so I might start with those. I’m scrounging the thrift stores to for books lol I love the hunt!

      Like

Leave a Reply

