Favorites · Features · Recommendations · Top Ten Tuesday

TTT: Books I Enjoyed but Rarely Talk About

Top Ten Tuesday was created by The Broke and the Bookish in June of 2010 and was moved to That Artsy Reader Girl in January of 2018. It was born of a love of lists, a love of books, and a desire to bring bookish friends together.

This week we are talking about  Books I Enjoyed but Rarely Talk About!


Almost Human

I don’t read a lot of webcomics mainly because I hate to wait for them to continue on but this one was already completed when I picked it up! I love this it has a beautiful F/F relationship and amazing rep in the secondary characters. We have a polyam relationship, a nonbinary character in a world that doesn’t blink an eye to either! Recommend to everyone

WolfSong

I don’t talk about this book often since I don’t know how to express my love for this book! It was just amazing and I want everyone to give it a try! This is an M/M romance and it deals with grief, family, found families, and growth. I haven’t read the next book yet but I can’t wait to get my hands on the next book once I can dedicate a whole day to it!

Becoming Us

Amy Daws is really becoming popular and I love all of her books that I’ve read but The London Lovers series is amazing and where my love of her writing started. I loved following the characters in this world and I loved the topics explored in this series including infertility and it was done in a really well-done fashion.

The Marvels

I’ve read every Brian Selznick published and I am obsessed with his work however this is my favorite on to date. I love the mixed approach of his book part of the book is written traditionally and the other half is told through pictures in the story is so engrossing! I don’t want to give anything away but it took me completely by surprise and ended up being completely different than what I thought it was! I would recommend this to everyone!

To Die For

I don’t talk about this book for multiple reasons but I’m pretty sure that it wouldn’t be rated as high if I read it again today as I did years ago. I remember reading this book and laughing at multiple scenes and that doesn’t happen often for me when I’m reading. The reason I wouldn’t read this again is because of the frustration I felt when the main female character was constantly brushed off by the love interest no matter what the reason was and that didn’t sit well with me at all so the rest of the series is a pass from me.

You’re Never Weird On the Internet (Almost)

I don’t get to talk about this memoir since Felicia is a Youtuber and I don’t know a lot of people outside of the internet that has heard of her before. I’ve followed Felicia for years so I was really excited to see that she was going to share her journey. I’ve read a lot of Youtuber memoirs and this is still one of my favorites that I’ve read to date. She’s really relatable if you’ve never seen here before I really recommend that you check her out in one of her media sites.

If My Body Could Speak

My favorite spoken word author is Blythe Baird and when I heard she was publishing her poems I knew I would have to give this a read and I loved it we get a lot of the poems we’re already familiar with but we also got a  lot of new content and it is so awesome to get to see the growth from her first poem to her newer ones.

This Star Won’t Go Out!

Esther will always have a special place in my heart if you’ve never heard of her I really suggest you look into Esther day on Youtube. Esther was an amazing person and I’m so happy we have this collection of words from Esther.

Don’t Touch My Hair!

I don’t read a lot of picture books for myself but I couldn’t help picking this up when I saw it in a store. When I was younger I couldn’t find books about girls that look like me and struggle with issues that I did like dealing with everyone wanting to touch my hair! I bought this one for my sister and I really am happy that it is here for the younger generations.

WonderBook

I don’t talk much about writing books or reference books on my blog mainly because I haven’t read a lot of them but I loved this one between the beautiful images and the different material subjects I have so many ideas buzzing in my head. I really want to own a copy of this for my own shelves so I can reference it more often. Some of the best photos I’ve seen in a book before.


What are some books that you enjoyed but rarely talk about?

6 thoughts on “TTT: Books I Enjoyed but Rarely Talk About

  1. This Star Won’t Go Out is one I don’t mention often enough either, but it’s just about one of the prettiest collections I’ve ever seen in terms of art design. I didn’t know anything about her beforehand and I have not seen any of her videos — I feel like it would hurt too much now — but what a book legacy to leave behind.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.